Stakeholder Advisory Council

The Stakeholder Advisory Council (SAC) was established in 1996, and was formalized in the Canadian Payments Act in 2001. The SAC provides advice to our Board of Directors on payment, clearing, and settlement matters, and contributes input on proposed initiatives, including by-laws, policy statements, and rules that affect third parties. It also identifies issues that might concern payment system users and service providers, and suggests how they could be addressed.

The SAC meets at least three times a year. In addition, SAC representatives have the opportunity to serve on other Payments Canada committees.


The SAC has a maximum of 20 members representing the views of our broad stakeholder base, including consumers, businesses, retailers, and governments, as well as related service providers.

Eligibility requirements for membership and the yearly nominations process are set out in our General By-law and Administration By-law respectively.

Members (as of June 2017)

  • Doug Bruce, Canadian Federation of Independent Business
  • Jean Hope, Ministry of Finance, Province of British Columbia
  • Don Mercer, President, Consumers Council of Canada & Chair of the Financial Services Issues Committee
  • Juan Blanco, Western Union Canada
  • Katja Lehr, PayPal Canada
  • Bill Piggot, ADP Canada 
  • Donna Kinoshita, MasterCard Canada
  • Laurence Cooke, nanoPay Corporation
  • Brenda Gibson, Wawanesa Insurance
  • Karl Littler, Retail Council of Canada
  • Lisa Shields, FI.SPAN Services Inc.
  • Brent Mizzen, Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
  • Celine Chartier, Receiver General, Government of Canada
  • John McKenzie, Canadian Depository for Securities Ltd.
  • Peter Thom, Bell Canada
  • Vacant, Interac Association
  • Ernie Johannson, Payments Canada Board of Directors 
  • Hugues Vaillancourt (Observer - Department of Finance Canada)