Payments Canada welcomes new appointees to its advisory councils

Published: July 17, 2020

Payments Canada welcomes the 2020 appointees to its Member Advisory Council (MAC) and Stakeholder Advisory Council (SAC) from across the payments ecosystem, whose wide range of views are pivotal to the role of these councils and the future of payments in Canada. Together, with returning council members, the new appointees represent a diversity of experiences and perspectives. 

The MAC and the SAC both play a vital role in how we collaborate, helping to shape the future of payments in Canada. Members of each council are highly engaged and represent significant commitments from their respective organizations to support the work of Canada’s clearing and settlement systems, as well as the Modernization program, through extensive collaboration and thought leadership. 

Join us in welcoming the new 2020 council appointees.

Member Advisory Council 2020

New members *effective July 1, 2020: 

  • Canadian Tire Bank, Megan Jones
  • PNC Bank, Eileen Dignen

Returning members:

  • Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, John Cowan
  • Central 1, Sue Whitney
  • JP Morgan Bank Canada, Matthew Parker-Jones
  • Peoples Trust, John Pals
  • BMO, Derek Vernon

Stakeholder Advisory Council 2020

New members: * effective April 1, 2020:

  • Microsoft, Tracy Lagasse
  • AscendantFX Capital Inc., Shemani Jiwani
  • KOHO, Elena Litani

Returning members:

  • Consumer Council of Canada, Don Mercer
  • Province of BC, Jean Hope
  • PayPal, Katja Lehr
  • The Canadian Federation of Independent Business, Jasmin Guénette

Payments Canada would like to thank its outgoing council members for their many contributions.

More information about our advisory councils can be found on the Member Advisory Council and the Stakeholder Advisory Council pages of our website. 

Our 2021 call for nominations for SAC will open Fall 2020, with MAC call for nominations in Spring 2021. Should you have any questions about the selection process or how to get involved, please contact: