Member Advisory Council

The Member Advisory Council (MAC) is a 20-person council codified in the Canadian Payments Act. MAC serves as a consultative and engagement forum for system participants who are also members of Payments Canada. 

The members are highly engaged and represent significant commitments from their respective organizations to support the modernization agenda through extensive resourcing and thought leadership. 


The Council's mandate, set out in the legislation, is to provide counsel and advice to the Board on our clearing and settlement systems, the interaction of those systems with other systems involved in the exchange, clearing or settlement of payments and the development of new technologies.


The MAC has a maximum of 20 members representing the diversity of our system participants. Members are appointed by our Board of Directors. Eligibility requirements for Council membership and the yearly nomination process are set out in our General Bylaw and the Administration Bylaw respectively.

Members (As of July 2022)

  • ATB, Ryan Rabin - Member Advisory Council Vice Chair
  • Bank of America, Leslie Konecny
  • Bank of Canada, Ian Christensen
  • BMO, Derek Vernon - Member Advisory Council Chair
  • Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, Jason Behamdouni
  • Central 1, Sue Whitney
  • Citi, John Landry
  • Community Trust (formerly Questrade), Christine Day
  • HSBC Bank of Canada, Jude Leclerc
  • JPMorgan Chase, National Association, Matthew Parker-Jones
  • La Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec, Patrice Dagenais
  • Laurentian Bank of Canada, Adam Swinemar
  • National Bank of Canada, Patrice Roy
  • Peoples Trust Company, John Pals
  • PNC Bank, Eric Bauer
  • Royal Bank of Canada, Lisa Lansdowne-Higgins
  • Scotiabank, Dougal Middleton
  • TD, Christine Hunter
  • Wealthsimple Investments Inc, Hanna Zaidi
  • Wells Fargo, Sarah Gainey

Terms of reference