Payments Canada welcomes two new board members

Payments Canada is pleased to announce that Sean Goldrick of Wells Fargo and Jennifer Hawkins of the Bank of Montreal have been voted onto its Board of Directors, effective June 23, 2022. Mr. Goldrick and Ms. Hawkins will serve as two of the financial institution board members and bring a wealth of payments experience that will serve Payments Canada and the board of directors well for the duration of their terms.

The Payments Canada Board of Directors plays a pivotal role in governing and managing the affairs of Payments Canada with a focus on strategic and policy matters. As set out in the Canadian Payments Act, the board is composed of a majority of independent directors, augmented with financial institution member representatives who are experts in the payment industry.

Sean Goldrick brings more than 25 years of experience to the Payments Canada Board of Directors. He serves as a Senior Vice President in Global Product Management at Wells Fargo, with responsibility for the Canada Treasury Management and the U.S. multi-currency platforms.

Jennifer Hawkins has more than 25 years of experience in payments strategy and innovation. As the Senior Vice President and Head of Emerging Businesses at BMO Financial Group, she is responsible for providing thought leadership across areas of disruption within retail banking, including open banking, payments evolution and merchant acquiring.

With the addition of these two new financial institution board members, Payments Canada thanks outgoing directors John Landry (Citibank) and Kevin Patterson (CIBC) for their many contributions over the course of their three-year terms.

Payments Canada looks forward to working with its new and returning board of directors, along with the members of the advisory councils and its regulators, to ensure Payments Canada remains well positioned for the future.

Keep reading